Sticky Note Quote #2

“The funny thing about Earth is, if you go down far enough you’ll eventually find yourself at the top. Unfortunately, the same isn’t true with life.”

                                   ~Allen R. Kive


I was always fascinated with the idea of digging straight into the surface of earth and popping out the “other side.” Of course, that would be impossible unless we could figure out a way to tunnel through the earth’s molten core. Nonetheless, the idea was very intriguing. And what would happen if you jumped down the hole? Gravity would pull you down to the center, but then what? Would you come to an abrupt stop when you reached the middle? Or more likely, would you yo-yo back and forth until you rested and simply floated in the center? And then you would have to somehow climb the rest of the way, until you reached the surface again.

Whatever the case, our life is very different. We won’t find ourselves back “at the top” if our life continues to go down. You’ve probably heard our life being compared to an up and down walk. Sometimes life seems terrible and is called a “valley experience.” But other times life seems great and is called a “mountain top experience.” Just remember, when on top of a mountain it’s often the valley that makes the view so beautiful. The “mountain top experience.” wouldn’t be nearly as great if their wasn’t a valley below. The deeper the valley, the higher the mountain top will seem. It’s just too bad you can’t get to the top of the mountain by trekking deeper into the valley instead of climbing up the mountainside. Going downhill is always much easier than going up, but it won’t make your life any better. So get climbing!

6 thoughts on “Sticky Note Quote #2

  1. Yes, you have a collection of random thoughts. Going to the center of the earth definitely would be a challenge. The view from a mountain top – looking into a valley – gives you a feeling of being on top of the world and in control of your life. 🙂

    Like

  2. Love this! 🙂 I remember looking at the valleys down below from a vista on Mena Mountain when we vacationed there. It’s exhilarating and also scary because I don’t want to fall down into the valley while on the mountain. 🙂

    “Gravity would pull you down to the center, but then what? Would you come to an abrupt stop when you reached the middle? Or more likely, would you yo-yo back and forth until you rested and simply floated in the center?” Slightly off topic, but this reminds me of when I read The Journey to the Center of the Earth. (Have you read that? If not, I don’t want to completely spoil it for you…) But same idea. I wondered while reading, “What happens when you reach the center?!” XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I’ve read the book before, although it’s been awhile. 🙂 I read the great illustrated classic version (I don’t know if you’re familiar with those) and I think I started reading the full version, but don’t know if I ever finished it 😄. I wasn’t much of a reader when I was younger. 🙂 Wasn’t the earth’s core full of water, so once they fell in they had to swim “down” to come “up” through the other side?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m very familiar with the Great Illustrated Classics; that’s the exact edition I read. XD I don’t think I have read the full version, but I think I may have it. 🙂
        I don’t remember. 😂 It has probably been 10 or 15 years since I read it. But that sounds right. I especially remember the dinosaurs. (Unless I am confusing the movie with the book; I saw the movie a few years ago.)

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Yeah, haha! I actually just watched the movie again recently, but I’m pretty both of them have the dinosaurs in it. I’m not sure if the book had the center of water in it, or if that was just in the movie.

    Like

  4. “when on top of a mountain it’s often the valley that makes the view so beautiful.”- Very true! It’s often the struggles and difficulties that would make our successes and achievements the sweetest! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

